Gated (Gated #1)

Review From User :

Jake's Review: A really funny book that is a lot like Diary of a Wimpy Kid except for the fact that Tom is a lot cooler of a kid. The beginning of the book was lame but it got a lot better after about 20 pages. It is a really easy book to read so kids like Brian who don't like to read will actually like to read a book. The pictures make it fun to look at too. I didn't understand some of the words, but after mom showed me the glossary at the end, I could figure them out. I really think it would be a better idea for the glossary to be at the beginning though. I hope there are going to be more books in this series since I have already read all The Wimpy Kid books. Could have been longer too.

Jake's Rating: 9.5/10

Mom's Review: Perfect book for the reluctant reader and also for fans of The Diary of A Wimpy Kids, Dork Diaries and The Loser List. The story is delightful and the artwork just adds to its charm. This is one that both middle school boys AND girls will enjoy. Tom is a character that everyone can relate to and the language and situations are very realistic. Really enjoyed the relationship between Tom and his sister Delia & its one that anyone with a sibling can relate to. I will definitely be recommending this one to any of my customers with kids who really don't like to read. Hope to see more from this author. Enjoyed the glossary at the end which gives the reader explanations into the English terms (Published 2011 in the UK)

Mom's Rating: 9/10


We received this from Scholastic in exchange for an honest review


A fast-paced, nerve-fraying contemporary thriller that questions loyalties and twists truths.

Appearances can be deceiving.

In the Community, life seems perfect. After the 9/11 terrorist attacks, Pioneer invited Lyla’s family to join his group and escape the evil in the world. They were happy to be chosen, happy to move away from New York and start over in such an idyllic gated community. Now seventeen, Lyla knows that Pioneer is more than just their charismatic leader, he is their prophet . . . but his visions have grown dark.

Lyla is a loyal member of the Community, but a chance encounter with an outsider boy has her questioning Pioneer, the Community – everything. And if there’s one thing not allowed in the Community, it’s doubt. Her family and friends are certain in their belief. Lyla wishes she could feel the same. As Pioneer begins to manipulate his flock toward disaster, the question remains: Will Lyla follow them over the edge?

From the outside looking in, it’s hard to understand why anyone would join a cult. But Gated tells the story of the Community from the inside looking out, and from behind the gates things are not quite so simple. Amy Christine Parker’s beautiful writing creates a chilling, utterly unique YA story. Perfect for fans of creepy thrillers and contemporary fiction alike.

Gated 01

Gated 02