Julia Whelan – My Oxford Year

Review From User :

5+ stars!!!


"The hardest thing is love, with no expiration date, no qualifiers, no safety net. Love that demands acceptance of all things I cannot change. Love that doesn't follow a plan."
My Oxford Year by Julie Whelan is a real gem of a book! It took me by surprise in the best way! I've listened to many audio books narrated by Ms. Whelan (she is an amazing narrator) and I'm happy to report that her writing is amazing as well. I listened to this in audio, it was narrated by her of course, and if you haven't read yet, I have to recommend you experience this book via audio. It was made to be listened to over being read, in my opinion.

Ella Durran is a 24 year old American who is out of the country for the first time. She is a Rhodes Scholar who is studying in Oxford. On top of that, she has just been offered a job to work on a potential presidential candidate's campaign. Her future is promising and the world is her oyster. Her first day in England, Ella meets Jamie. Their meeting left me with a huge grin on my face.

Jamie Davenport isn't a professor, but he's helping out by teaching a literature class. And it's a class Ella happens to be in. These two have such a connection, they can't seem to stay away from each other. They decide just for the time that Ella is in England, they will be together. No strings. Then, as things always seem to do, the feelings between them start to change. The problem with this is that things are even more complicated than what they seem
"And if you're not surprised by life, then what's the bloody point" Ella and Jamie. Gah! I adored them both. Jamie is charming, sweet, and swoony, and Ella is witty, intelligent, and sharp. I loved them both, and even more, I loved them together. Along with the two main characters, there were a slew of wonderful secondary characters that made the story that much more interesting.

When I saw in the blurb that this book was recommended for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks, I knew it was a book I had to read. It's a smart book that's full of humor, charm, and of course- feels. You'll be happy to know I didn't cry like a baby while reading this, I may have shed a few tears, but overall, I found this uplifting and heartwarming. It was a touching story, and one that will stay with me. I give this book a full 5 stars and recommend to all lovers of romance and coming of age stories. And remember- listen to the audio if you get the chance! It's fantastic!


Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future – perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.
Expand text…

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

My Oxford Year