The Bookshop on the Corner – Jenny Colgan

Review From User :



Shout out to this fabulous book in my latest YouTube Video all about my favorite bookish books (and while I attempt a little baking in the background). Thanks for watching and happy reading!

The Written Review:

This book spoke to my soul Because every day with a book is slightly better than one without, and I wish you nothing but the happiest of days. Nina Redmond is my favorite kind of main character - she feels like a best friend. A very bookish best friend. The best possible kind of best friend.

Nina is was a librarian. Her job was her everything. She spent every waking moment, caring for all of the little library books, curling up with a new novel every night and most importantly, helping people find the book that they needed the most. Books were her everything. for Nina, whenever reality, or the grimmer side of reality, threatened to invade, she always turned to a book...They had mended her heart when it was broken, and encouraged her to hope when she was down. But all that vanished. All that comfort and security from her library job - snuffed out. And Nina is just reeling and the midst of her panic, she comes to a realization (with the help of her friend): Just do something. You might make a mistake, then you can fix it. But if you do nothing, you can't fix anything. And your life might turn out full of regrets. So, armed with an unwieldy old van and far more books than one can imagine, Nina sets off to explore the countryside - selling her books at farmers markets and festivals, all the while blossoming from a shy, timid librarian to the woman she was always meant to be.

I absolutely adored this story. The romance was so well done - it was one of those romances where you fall in love with the way they're falling in love. And the books (so many books!) just cinched the novel for me. I want to go out and check out every last book from the library that Nina suggests.

As an aside, I loved the way the author dedicated the book. There is no dedication in this book because the entire book is dedicated to you: the reader. To all readers.

Because this book is about reading and books, and how these things can change your life, always, I would argue, for the better.... The 2018 PopSugar Reading Challenge - A book that involves a library or bookstore

Audiobook Comments
An absolute pleasure to listen to - thank you Lucy Price-Lewis. You are a fabulous reader.

The 2018 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge - A book that involves a bookstore or library

YouTube | Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Snapchat @miranda.reads

Happy Reading!


Category: Adults, Humor, Novel, Romance

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 1

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 2

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 3

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 4

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 5

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 6

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 7

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 8

The Bookshop on the Corner - Part 9