The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail

Review From User :

Fantastic! This was a delightful story (I'll spare you the plot re-cap as it's already repeated numerous times on this page), and I loved the relaxing pace of this story, one adults and children alike will find a pleasure to read or have read to them. It doesn't feature high-tech intrigue, smash-'em up car chases, or moral conflict - all of the things that seem to characterize other current writings, but rather, it is a gentle story that I would class as truly family-friendly. Written with enough punnery and tongue-in-cheek humour, (most) adults will catch the subtle irony while children will enjoy the story for the fantasy it is. Need a bed-time saga to read to young ones Need a family audiobook for a car-trip I would definitely recommend this one. In fact, I originally borrowed it from the library, but will be purchasing my own copy for my home library.


Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest.

The smallest mouse in London’s Royal Mews is such a little mystery that he hasn’t even a name. And who were his parents? His Aunt Marigold, Head Needlemouse, sews him a uniform and sends him off to be educated at the Royal Mews Mouse Academy. There he’s called “Mouse Minor” (though it’s not quite a name), and he doesn’t make a success of school. Soon he’s running for his life, looking high and low through the grand precincts of Buckingham Palace to find out who he is and who he might become.

Queen Victoria ought to be able to help him, if she can communicate with mice. She is all-seeing, after all, and her powers are unexplainable. But from her, Mouse Minor learns only that you do not get all your answers from the first asking. And so his voyage of self-discovery takes him onward, to strange and wonderful places.

The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail - Part 3

The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail - Part 1

The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail - Part 2