The Utopia of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of

Review From User :

Loved it! Now, where exactly ARE:
my flying cars &
clones & androids & their electric sheep &
teleportation &
the (anti)gravity fields &
the era of time & space travel &
the era of space-travelling societies &
all the visits to other galaxies &
all the other miracles things I was promised in all the sci-fi (including the Star Track!)
I'm not too sure I really want clones and the idea of time travel gives me migraines but the rest, I want it. Who stole it, now, raise my hand! All the people doing BS, ie: nice PPTs for other lazyabouts to stare at during some boring goddamn meetings and other design and trash and purposeless endeavours WTF

Although I don't care about the 'Occupy Wall Street' thing (since the idea so lame that it could have been developed only by someone who has no understanding whatsoever of the offending industry) or for the anarchy trend (just like the OWS thing it's extremely pointless and is for people who have nothing better to do with their time and who know nothing of the history - the anarchy of Russia in 1917, anyone willing to try that at home)

Nevertheless, among the lots of other things discussed in here I have (so far!) found almost no bones to pick (other than the above-mentioned, in passing) and several STELLAR discussions on the topics of comics, mass media, books, imagination and psychology: all under the anthropologic angle. As a result, this is gonna be another of my favs by this author.


From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives
Expand text…

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?

To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber – one of our most important and provocative thinkers – traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing – even romantic – about bureaucracy.

Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us – and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

The Utopia of Rules - FULL BOOK